FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist  RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesP.M. Log inLog in
New Mac .28 Hyper 7 Break in issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OFNA Nitro Talk Back Forum Forum Index -> Hyper Engines
View previous topic :: View next topic  

smazutis

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:40 pm    Post subject: New Mac .28 Hyper 7 Break in issues Reply with quote

I'm new to Nitro buggies, thought getting an RTR would be pretty painless, I guess I was wrong. Ofna really needs to consider creating a quick start guide for radio setup and engine starting / break in.

Anyway, I can get the motor to start, but not idle for more than a minute. Or if I increase the idle screw, one the engine warms up a little, it starts trying to engage the clutch. Any tips for getting the setup right?

Also, should I leave the glow plug ignitor on the engine after it starts during break in? That is, if I can get the engine to idle to break it in.
VWVR6_T

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Start with setting up the Idle air gap in the carb. Set the gap to around .6 to .8mm is like the thickness of a credit card, but because you are braking in the engine set the idle gap to around 1mm, I will explain.

2. Set up the LSN(low side needle) and HSN(high side needle) needles to stock setting, if you dont have the stock setting just put the needles flush with the housing.

3. If you are in a weather with less than 50deg. try to used a hot plug.

4. Warm up the engine with a heat gun or a hair dryer, until the block get very warm, if you have a temp gauge try to get the engine at 150-175deg.

5. Start the engine, should start very easy. Once is running try set a steady idle using the LSN. Once you have a steady idle you can start brake in the engine.