FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist  RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesP.M. Log inLog in
Picco .26 Red Dot issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    OFNA Nitro Talk Back Forum Forum Index -> Picco Engines
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Chemdawg

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:56 pm    Post subject: Picco .26 Red Dot issues Reply with quote

Hello everyone. I'm new to both this forum, and to the Ofna product. I purchased my red dot about a month ago. But have NOT been able to successfully get this engine to run. On day one, I got it all installed and had major idle issues. Pulling it back out and checking it for leaks, I found it had a bad front seal. I replaced the seal with a Boca Mx ceramic bearing. Reassembled it, and started the break in procedure.

One thing I noticed during the breakin was that it was way too rich. So rich that I was dumping raw fuel out the exhaust, in way more than normal fashion. I took my truck to my Local hobby shop, and talked to the nitro guru. He tweaked it to the point where I was able to run without blowing out so much fuel. However, once I started tuning for performance, I just couldn't seem to get this to run good at all. So on a few occasions I decided to reset the needles to factory settings, to start over. Now I'm a bit worried, because I read that your supposed to open the slide before closing the LSN completely. I did not do that. Does this mean that I destroyed my carb body? I really hope I didn't...

Thanks in advance for this info.
VWVR6_T

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let start with, DId you brake it in the motor?
If you didn't? you have to, otherwise that motor will be junk before his first gallon. Dump raw fuel it is normal in the very first fuel tanks, why? it will lubricate and release any thing inside the engine from factory.

Get the needles at flush with the housing, both of them.